Comparison · Updated September 10, 2026
BidSparq vs Federal Compass
Built by GovWin veterans for the federal market. BidSparq covers the rest of it too.
14-day Pro Max trial · No credit card · 2-minute setup
The short answer
BidSparq is the practical Federal Compass alternative for contractors who want public pricing and coverage beyond federal: 23,000+ federal, state, local, education, and healthcare sources with automatic 0-100 AI fit scoring, at $249/month with a self-serve 14-day trial. Federal Compass is a credible federal-first market-intelligence and capture platform founded by former GovWin and Deltek leaders, sold through a sales call with a one-year commitment as its standard term.
Looking at all Federal Compass alternatives?
The strongest Federal Compass alternatives in 2026: BidSparq (federal plus state, local, education, and healthcare across 23,000+ sources with 0-100 AI scoring, published $249/month, 14-day self-serve trial), HigherGov (federal-first with published pricing), GovTribe (federal contact and award intelligence), GovWin IQ (the enterprise standard at enterprise prices), and EZGovOpps (budget federal market intelligence from $2,695/year). Pick BidSparq for coverage beyond federal and self-serve pricing; pick HigherGov or EZGovOpps if you are federal-only on a budget.
The 30-second version
The differences that decide this comparison for most contractors.
Pricing transparency
- BidSparq
- $249/month on the pricing page, monthly, cancel anytime
- Federal Compass
- Not public; contact sales, with a one-year commitment standard per its own terms
You should be able to price a tool, and leave it, without a negotiation.
Market coverage
- BidSparq
- 23,000+ sources: federal, state, local, education, healthcare
- Federal Compass
- Federal-first, plus a state & local feed with no published source count
If part of your pipeline is SLED or education, coverage you cannot inspect is coverage you cannot trust.
How opportunities reach you
- BidSparq
- Every live RFP scored 0-100 against your profile automatically
- Federal Compass
- Opportunity sourcing plus pipeline, CRM, and market-intel modules you work manually
A strong BD suite still needs an analyst driving it. Scoring does the first pass for you.
Getting started
- BidSparq
- Self-serve, about 2 minutes to first matches
- Federal Compass
- Sales-led motion; its terms define a free trial as a limited-duration demonstration, with no length published
You can evaluate BidSparq against your real pipeline before a first sales call elsewhere would even be scheduled.
Feature-by-feature: BidSparq vs Federal Compass
More features15 features
| Feature | BidSparq | Federal Compass |
|---|---|---|
| Federal RFPs (SAM.gov) | Included | Included (deep) |
| State & local RFPs | 23,000+ sources | Separate feed; no published source count |
| Education & E-Rate RFPs | Included | Not specified |
| Healthcare & VA RFPs | Included | Not specified |
| AI matching & scoring | Automatic (0-100) | Manual sourcing + market intel |
| AI document analysis | Per-RFP AI chat (35 tools) | Wayfinder AI summarization |
| MCP integration (Claude/Cursor/ChatGPT) | 100 tools, OAuth 2.1 | Not documented |
| Buyer contacts | 85,000+ officers from real solicitations | 2,000,000+ claimed industry contacts |
| Capture management | Pursuits hub included | Pipeline + GovCon CRM modules |
| Task-order intelligence | Per-vehicle velocity + win share | Task Order Management module |
| Teaming tools | Vendor + subaward intel | Teaming & partner management module |
| Public pricing | Yes ($249/mo) | No (contact sales) |
| Contract terms | Monthly, cancel anytime | One-year commitment standard |
| Free trial | 14 days, full Pro Max access | Limited-duration demonstration; length not published |
| Onboarding | About 2 minutes, self-serve | Sales-led |
Location search & maps3 features
| Feature | BidSparq | Federal Compass |
|---|---|---|
| Radius search from any city | 5 to 500 miles from any of 71,976 US cities, towns, and counties, savable with alerts | No radius search |
| Drive-time search (within N minutes by road) | Yes, 15 to 180 min on the real road network (expanding by region) | Not offered |
| Map view of matching bids | Yes, per saved search and combined, with distance on every result | Not offered |
Alerts & saved searches2 features
| Feature | BidSparq | Federal Compass |
|---|---|---|
| Saved-search alert depth | Keywords watched in bid titles, descriptions, and the full text of attached documents | Keyword alerts (depth varies; typically posting titles and descriptions) |
| Exact vs AI-related match labeling | Every result labeled; alerts email exact matches only | No equivalent labeling documented |
Market intelligence2 features
| Feature | BidSparq | Federal Compass |
|---|---|---|
| Incumbent & award history research | 2M+ federal awards, 1.8M+ past solicitations, and 250M+ state and local purchase line items, with an incumbent and expiring-contract panel on federal RFP pages | Varies; award research is typically federal-only or a separate higher-tier product |
| Cooperative purchasing-vehicle catalogs | SEWP, NASPO ValuePoint, TIPS, OMNIA Partners, E&I, and Internet2 NET+ awarded-vendor catalogs with contract numbers and expiry, on every company profile | No cooperative-catalog coverage documented |
| Pricing | Pro Max $249/mo ($199/mo billed annually), public | Not public: contact sales; per-seat, one-year commitment standard |
Want the full price picture? How much does Federal Compass cost in 2026? →
What you see on day one
Real screens from the product, not mockups: what a Federal Compass user lands in after the 14-day trial starts.


Numbers you can verify, not claims you have to trust
We publish original research from this corpus, so you can judge the data before you pay for it:
BidSparq facts, in the questions people ask
Current as of the numbers published across this site; each answer links to the page where you can check it.
- Is BidSparq federal-only, or state and local only?
- Neither. BidSparq covers federal (SAM.gov and agency portals) plus state, local, education, and healthcare procurement across 23,000+ sources, with 60,000+ live solicitations at any time. See the live directory at /rfps.
- Does BidSparq have an MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT, or Cursor?
- Yes. BidSparq runs a public MCP server with 100 tools and OAuth 2.1 sign-in, so you can search RFPs, pull awards and vehicles, and manage pursuits from any MCP-capable assistant. Setup and the tool list are at /learn/mcp-setup.
- Does BidSparq track expiring contracts and recompetes?
- Yes. The Federal Recompete Indexis rebuilt weekly from FPDS and USAspending, and recompete and forecast signals are matched to each account's profile with incumbent names in the weekly digest.
- What does BidSparq cost?
- Pro Max is $249 per month, or $199 per month billed annually, with a 14-day free trial and no annual contract. Pricing is published in full at /rfp-software.
- Can BidSparq data be verified before paying?
- Yes. We publish the research computed from the same corpus, refreshed weekly: the Wired Contract Report, the Federal Labor Rate Benchmark, and the free GSA labor-rate lookup.
Where Federal Compass excels
- Founding team came from GovWin, Deltek, and Wolf Den: deep federal market-intelligence pedigree
- End-to-end federal BD suite: opportunity sourcing, pipeline, GovCon CRM, task-order management, teaming
- Wayfinder AI document summarization (scopes of work, evaluation criteria, incumbents)
- Rated 4.5/5 on Capterra (11 reviews; listing updated August 2026)
- Distributed through Carahsoft for public-sector buyers
Why choose BidSparq
- Public pricing: $249/month, monthly, cancel anytime, with a 14-day free trial
- 23,000+ sources across federal, state, local, education, and healthcare, not federal-first
- Automatic 0-100 AI fit scoring on every live RFP, no analyst workflow required
- 102-tool AI chat and MCP server (OAuth 2.1, on the official MCP Registry) for Claude, Cursor, and ChatGPT
- 85,000+ buyer-side procurement contacts, each extracted from a real solicitation
- Pursuits capture hub with Shipley-weighted pipeline forecasting included
- Wired-risk composite score flags pre-wired RFPs automatically
- Set up in about 2 minutes, self-serve
Where Federal Compass falls short
No public pricing: contact-sales motion, per-seat licensing, one-year commitment standard per its terms
Federal-first; the state & local feed has no published source count, and education/healthcare depth is unspecified
Capterra reviews include serious customer-service complaints and a dated-interface critique
Small public review base (11 Capterra reviews) for a platform sold on trust
API limited to specific platforms (Salesforce, HubSpot) with build-it-yourself integration; no MCP server documented
What is Federal Compass, and when is BidSparq the better fit?
Federal Compass is a federal market-intelligence and business-development platform founded in 2019 by Chad Ganske and Jim Sherwood, with more than 40 years of combined experience from GovWin, Deltek, and Wolf Den. Based in the Washington, DC area and backed by a 2022 Series A from Blueprint Equity, it offers an end-to-end federal BD suite: opportunity sourcing, pipeline management, a GovCon-specific CRM, task-order management, teaming tools, and Wayfinder AI document summarization, and it claims more than 2,000,000 industry contacts and 500+ customer organizations. Pricing is not published; licensing is per-seat with a one-year commitment as the standard term, and state & local coverage is offered as a separate feed without a published source count. Contractors comparing Federal Compass alternatives usually want two things it does not lead with: transparent self-serve pricing and inspectable coverage beyond the federal market.
Who should use which?
Choose BidSparq if...
Small-to-midsize contractors who bid across federal, state, local, and education and want transparent pricing with automatic scoring
Start your free trial →Choose Federal Compass if...
Federal-only BD teams that want an end-to-end federal capture suite and prefer a sales-led vendor relationship
Getting started with Federal Compass: Not public: contact sales; per-seat, one-year commitment standard
Getting started with BidSparq: Pro Max $249/mo ($199/mo billed annually), public. The price is on the page, and you can cancel anytime.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Federal Compass cost?
Federal Compass does not publish pricing. Licensing is per-seat through a sales conversation, and its terms of service describe a one-year commitment as the standard with automatic renewal unless cancelled 30 days before the renewal date, payment available annually, quarterly, semi-annually, or in 12 monthly installments, and multi-year agreements at a lower cost with no early cancellation. The terms define a free trial as a limited-duration demonstration; no length is published. By comparison, BidSparq's pricing is public: $249/month (or $199/month billed annually) with a self-serve 14-day free trial and no annual commitment.
Is Federal Compass a good GovWin alternative?
For federal-focused teams, yes, and credibly so: its founders came from GovWin, Deltek, and Wolf Den, and it offers pipeline, CRM, task-order, and teaming workflows in one suite. But it inherits the same model: federal-first coverage and sales-led, unpublished pricing. If you want a GovWin alternative that also covers state, local, education, and healthcare with public pricing, that is the gap BidSparq was built for.
Does Federal Compass cover state and local opportunities?
Federal Compass offers a State & Local Opportunities solution described as aggregating thousands of decentralized sources into one feed, but it publishes no source count, state list, or education-sector specifics. BidSparq publishes its coverage: 23,000+ sources spanning federal, state, local, education, healthcare, and transit, with live counts on the site.
How we keep this comparison honest
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own public pages, official documentation, or clearly attributed community posts. We publish no invented testimonials, no self-assigned star ratings, and no paid or incentivized reviews. Since the FTC's Consumer Review Rule took effect in 2024, fake or undisclosed-insider reviews are a federal violation with penalties up to $53,088 per review, so wherever you research tools in this market, weight the proof you can verify: named sources, published pricing, and reviews on platforms that verify their authors.
Pricing and feature claims on this page were last re-verified in September 2026. When a vendor changes something, we update the page rather than let it age.
The bottom line
Federal Compass is a serious federal BD platform with real GovWin DNA, and for a federal-only team that wants pipeline, CRM, and task-order workflows in one sales-led package, it is a credible GovWin alternative. BidSparq wins on the two things Federal Compass does not lead with: transparent public pricing ($249/month, cancel anytime, versus contact-sales with a one-year standard commitment) and inspectable multi-market coverage (23,000+ federal, state, local, education, and healthcare sources with automatic 0-100 scoring). If your pipeline extends past federal, or you want to see your matches before you talk to anyone, start with BidSparq.
14-day Pro Max trial · No credit card · 2-minute setup
Go deeper
The rest of what we publish on Federal Compass, and the public-data rankings this comparison rests on.
More on Federal Compass
The data behind the comparison
From the blog
Compare BidSparq to other tools
Weighing your options? See all Federal Compass alternatives, compared → · Ready to switch? The migration guide →
Simple, transparent pricing
Close just one contract and BidSparq pays for itself, many times over.
14-day free trial with full Pro Max access. No credit card required.
30-day money-back guarantee on all paid plans.
Free Trial
14-day Pro Max trial, no card
What's included
- Full Pro Max access for 14 days
- Unlimited matched RFPs
- AI scoring & bid intelligence
- AI Chat (25 messages/day during trial)
- Dashboard & bid pipeline
- Team workspace: 5 seats during trial
- PDF/DOCX export
Pro Max
Every advantage on every bid
Full-market coverage
All 50 states · 23,000+ sources · 250M+ priced purchase lines: the full SLED + federal market, not federal-only like legacy tools.
What's included
- Unlimited matched RFPs: all 23,000+ sources
- AI scoring, enrichment & compliance matrix
- AI Chat: Unlimited (fair-use)
- Per-RFP AI deep-dive: Unlimited (fair-use)
- AI Proposal Writer: grounded, cited drafts
- Full-text document search across all RFP files
- Market Intelligence: 250M+ priced purchase lines, 2M+ federal awards, 700,000+ contract vehicles
- Pursuits pipeline, PDF/DOCX export & speed alerts
- Team workspace: 10 seats, shared pipeline, roles & @mentions
- MCP integration (100 tools): Claude, Cursor, ChatGPT
- Beacon contacts: 85,000+ procurement officers
- Priority support
Need to pay by invoice? Annual plans can be invoiced to your company, net 30, payable by ACH. Email sales@bidsparq.com.